All relative!

6 12 2009

Yep, so I did the dastardly deed and scanned and scanned till I could take no more. The only things that escaped the ritual scanning were the postcards too big for the ineptly sized beast. Anyway, this first batch of postcards aren’t Postcrossing ones [groan here, please] but ones I found around the house. Hopefully this post will get me crazy hits and fulfill my wish to become the Perez Hilton of Postcrossing.

My Uncle Tim loves to travel and is always off on some exotic jaunt. Luckily for me he also loves to send postcards so thanks to him I already had some real good’uns back in my pre-Postcrossing days. This one came from the legendary Syrian city Aleppo. Its caption reads: “Mother nursing her child 2nd cent AD. North Syria. Aleppo Museum.”

This one came from Goa, somewhere he’s returned to several times. Its captions reads: “Lord of the Cowherds Krisna delighted in playing on his flute as he tended to the cows with the other cowherds.” Nice guy!

I must admit he didn’t actually visit Mexico to get this one! It was sent from the British Museum in London.This turquoise mosaic of a double-headed serpent is from the 15th-16th century. Apparently its real-life height is 20.5 cm. Weirdly, the other day I was looking at this postcard, then I looked up and saw it on telly, then opened a newspaper and it was in there! Spooky.

This one came from the Turkish resort of Side – pronounced “siddy” – somewhere I would really love to visit.

This was sent us by my Irish uncle, Neil [confused yet?] from a Slovenian town with the unfortunate name of Bled. [I juuust managed to lop that off in the scanner.] According to his written missive, “the Japanese tourists [were] in town” – which must surely have resulted in linguistic hilarity at some point.

Actions

Information

7 responses

6 12 2009
Christine

Your scanner is doing a great job (except for cutting of the word “Bled”…but maybe it knows what’s best!). My scanner sometimes has a mind of its own too. These are all beautiful cards…and that is very spooky about the snake. Keep up the good work. This is fun stuff.
Christine

P.S. I wonder if you could do me a favor? On your blogroll, you have listed “The Daily Postcard”, which is also the name of my blog, but this link takes you to an old, defunct Daily Postcard, which was interesting but had nothing to do with postcards at all. If you posted it on purpose, by all means leave it there, but if it was a fluke it would help me to avoid confusion with my site if you took it down. Did I make any sense?

6 12 2009
Jenny

thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed them!! maybe the snake was a sign of something but I haven’t found out what yet 🙂

whoops – sorry i linked to that defunct blog! I just mended it 🙂 it was when I first made this blog and I was finding other sites to link to!

6 12 2009
Christine

Thanks Jenny,

Hey, I had an idea you might be interested in…since you mentioned becoming the Perez Hilton of Postcrossing blogs.
Some time ago I made a donation to Postcrossing. When I did that, my profile picture was highlighted on the side of the Postcrossing web page for two or three days and people clicked on it and all of a sudden my blog had a lot more traffic. It only stayed that high for about three days, because when other people donate after you, then you get moved off the page, but it’s definitely the perfect audience for your blog. I didn’t make the donation with the intention of increasing my blog traffic; I just wanted to support Postcrosssing, but this was a nice side effect…and I think some of the people stayed on. Just a thought, Perez 🙂

7 12 2009
Jenny

haha! 😀 I promise I won’t be as irritating as dear old Perez though, start talking about myself in the third person etc.! that’s a really good idea about donating! I’m very tempted – the only thing that puts me off is that, well, I am kinda poor. but I’ll find out what the minimum donation is…might give it a shot! thanks for that, Christine!!

7 12 2009
Christine

I think it’s $15…$16 to be safe, because it’s based on Euros.

8 12 2009
Jenny

hmmm that’s quite expensive for a pauper like me! i’ll have to wait until i’ve got a bit more cash 😀

2 01 2010
Groumbero

Oh my god loved reading your post. I submitted your rss to my blogreader!

Leave a Reply

