…and other things I like

21 12 2009

With masses of Xmas cards still clogging the Royal Mail’s pipes, I’ve received only one Postcrossing in the past week. Dang! So, until I’ve got that scanned, I’m just going to have to fulfill the “and other things I like” promise of my distinctly uncatchy URL. Here’s just a couple of other things I like!

♥ Well, this one is a little bit Postcrossy, FYI. The project’s creator, Paulo, also writes a personal website, the beautifully designed and quirky mentalstring.net.

♥ His lovely girlf, Ana, also has a blog: meiadeleite.com. Both sites are interesting and cool. They are obviously savants of all things computery!


♥ It’s Chriiiistmas! Thus, I present to you my Xmas present: the very lovely Samsung Genio Qwerty. I know it’s my present because I had to order it myself. The cheek of some people! I’m promised I won’t have to wrap it myself  but who knows. I can’t wait to be rid of the heinous Hello Kitty touchscreen I’m currently landed with. The aptly named Genio does email, Twitter, MP3…and also happens to be a totally unique design quite unlike that thing ending in “berry”.

♥ Without making assumptions, I would suspect that most Postcrossers are as stationary-obsessed as me. If true, then do make time to stop by Paper Nation! It’s UK-based but don’t worry, they ship to pretty much bloody anywhere. Not too keen on the postcards, but the diaries, notebooks and takeaway menu tidies are uber-lovely. Be still my beating heart!

PS. Blame WordPress for not opening a new tab when links are clicked. It’s irritating but there’s nothing I can do!

Actions

Information

7 responses

21 12 2009
Christine

My Postcrossing cards have come to a standstill too. I haven’t received any for several days and I’m afraid to send any because they may get misplaced and never get registered. thanks for the links to Paulo’s other site (even though it didn’t click through.)
A lot of people seem to like WordPress better than Blogger but i haven’t quite figured out why. I really like the way Blogger allows you to follow blogs and that the followers are shown on the blog. When I visit a blog I like then I can click on the followers on the chance that they may also host a blog I would be interested in. Anyway, there must be some reason people like WordPress. maybe you can enlighten me.

P.S. Congrats on your present!

22 12 2009
Jenny

Thanks! I can’t wait to start using it!

I think both links are working but they were being a bit slow 🙂

My very tech-savvy brother directed me to WordPress and I’m so glad he did – I love it! I think the main difference is that with WP you can have pages. Also, the designs are seen as being better and kind of cooler. I’ve never used Blogger but the WP dashboard is very easy to use and there’s great support. I’ve heard that a lot of people get their Blogger blogs maliciously removed because of the report function – not something that happens for WP blogs. I find WP blogs are much quicker to load – probably because there’s no ads! It’s all down to personal choice really. But I do like the Follower function of Blogger a lot! I hope they do something like it for WP!

23 12 2009
annienz

The mail down here to Kiwiland has been pretty slow this week too. I’ve been expecting a couple of things from the USA.

Some nice looking stuff on that stationery website. My weakness is post-it-notes, and it looked like they had some cute ones.

Annie

23 12 2009
Jenny

Three postcards I sent a few weeks ago took aaaaages but arrived yesterday! Yay! The only one still travelling is one to Switzerland – 22 days so far; I thought it would get there quickly!

24 12 2009
annienz

Hmm …and it’s not so far from you to Switzerland?

I don’t expect to have any of my sent cards registered until after Christmas. The longest travelling card I have out is 11 days to Germany but the average travelling time to Germany is 12 days, so it could be a few days yet.
We have no mail delivery here for the next four days. 😦

23 12 2009
Lay Hoon

What a beautiful gift for yourself.

Wish you a merry Christmas !!

24 12 2009
Jenny

@Lay Hoon: aww thanks! merry Christmas to you and everyone!

@annienz: no, not far at all, only a little way from the UK! so god knows what’s happened to it! until a few days ago my longest travelling card was…76 days!! and took two attempts! turns out the Belarussian mailmen are over-curious…

ours has stopped for the next 4 days too. darn it!

Leave a Reply

